The Singapore Actuarial Society aims to be the recognized representative body of the actuarial profession in Singapore, having the final authority in setting professional standards.

The Singapore Actuarial Society is a society registered with the Singapore Registry of Societies under the UEN S76SS0051K.

The objectives of the Society are to:  

  1. Set and uphold high professional standards among Members
  2. Further the professional development of Members
  3. Serve the public interest by promoting the study, discussion, publication and research into the application of actuarial, economic, financial and statistical principles to practical problems related to insurance, retirement benefits, finance and investment, risk management and other fields where such principles can be applied, with particular reference to Singapore and the ASEAN region
  4. Assist Members during actuarial studies
  5. Foster and encourage social relationship among the Members

The Singapore Actuarial Society was founded in 1976 by the following people

Mr N. N. Handa Mr A.T. Shimpi Mr Leong Teck Kut
Mr B. P. Gupta Mr Tan Kin Lian Mr Robert Lian
Mr Law Song Keng Mr F. J. D'Costa Mr A. Street
Dr P. W. A. Dayananda Mr Robert Fung Mr Peter Lee
Ms Pearly Lim Mr K Manivasagan Mr George Tay
Mr Yeo Boon Tong    

At that time, the actuarial profession was little known in Singapore and there were only a handful of qualified actuaries. The adoption of the new Constitution in July 1996 and the Code of Professional Conduct in November 1997 was the fruition of efforts made in the past two decades to promote the study of actuarial science and professional standards. There was a significant refresh of the Constitution which took effect from 1 April 2022.